AFCON officials state that Africa Cup of Nations will go ahead despite COVID-19 concerns


The organizers of the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) have made it clear that the competition is still going ahead, despite COVID-19 cases rising globally.

Due to be held in Cameroon from January 9 to February 6, the AFCON will see Africa’s best national teams going toe-to-toe for continent glory, but there are conflicting reports about whether it will be called off.

RMC Sport in France believe that the Central African Federation could be forced to postpone the tournament, while La Gazzetta dello Sport in Italy claim that there is no risk of this happening.

The organisers however have remained adamant that the festival of football will still happen, even with some clubs hoping for a cancellation so that their star players remain at the club for that period.

A month away from club football during possibly the busiest period of the season is sure to cause problems for all 20 Premier League sides, as it will test the teams’ squad depth to its limits.

See a list of each Premier League club and the players that are set to leave for AFCON in January:

  • Arsenal: Thomas Partey (Ghana), Mohamed Elneny (Egypt), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon), Nicolas Pepe (Ivory Coast)
  • Aston Villa: Trezeguet (Egypt), Bertrand Traore (Burkina Faso), Marvelous Nakamba (Zimbabwe)
  • Brentford: Julian Jeanvier (Guinea), Frank Onyeka (Nigeria), Tariqe Fosu-Henry (Ghana)
  • Brighton: Yves Bissouma (Mali)
  • Burnley: Maxwel Cornet (Ivory Coast)
  • Chelsea: Edouard Mendy (Senegal), Hakim Ziyech (Morocco)
  • Crystal Palace: Cheikhou Kouyate (Senegal), Jeffrey Schlupp (Ghana), Jordan Ayew (Ghana), Wilfried Zaha (Ivory Coast)
  • Everton: Alex Iwobi (Nigeria), Jean-Philippe Gbamin (Ivory Coast)
  • Leeds: None
  • Leicester: Daniel Amartey (Ghana), Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria), Nampalys Mendy (Senegal), Wilfried Ndidi (Nigeria)
  • Liverpool: Mohamed Salah (Egypt), Sadio Mane (Senegal), Naby Keita (Guinea)
  • Manchester City: Riyad Mahrez (Algeria)
  • Manchester United: Amad Diallo (Ivory Coast), Eric Bailly (Ivory Coast)
  • Newcastle: None
  • Norwich: None
  • Southampton: Moussa Djenepo (Mali), Mohammed Salisu (Ghana)
  • Tottenham: None
  • Watford: Adam Masina (Morocco), Emmanuel Dennis (Nigeria), Ismaila Sarr (Senegal), Peter Etebo (Nigeria), Will Troost-Ekong (Nigeria)
  • West Ham: Said Benrahma (Algeria)
  • Wolves: Romain Saiss (Morocco), Willy Boly (Ivory Coast).

Read Also: Nigeria’s representative, Maristella Okpala, wins best National Costume at Miss Universe 2021

Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *