Update: How to apply for Who Wants to Be a Millionaire show

September 2017 when it was temporarily put on hold.

The new ‘WWTBAM’ series tagged ‘The Rebirth’ will be hosted by Popular show host and broadcaster, Frank Edoho.

Recall that Edoho had hosted the show from its inception on October, 8, 2004, until September 2, 2017.

In the thirteen memorable years of gracing our screens, the show which enthralled TV audiences far and wide with its exciting and educating editions, boasted of formidable participants, a deep wealth of knowledge and one worthy winner of the staggering prize money of N10 million.

Aroma Ufodike became the first winner of the much-coveted top prize of this stupendous game show.

The millionaire game show, which has an intricate set of rules, hosts a group of contestants in each episode in a preliminary round called ‘Fastest Finger First’ where all contenders for the whooping prize money are given a question and four answers by the host, which must then be placed within a particular order.

The contestant who answers correctly in the fastest time goes on to play the main game.

Once a contestant enters the main game, they are asked increasingly difficult general knowledge questions by the host, with each question featuring four possible answers, to which the contestant must give the correct answer.

Doing this wins the contestant certain amounts of money as they advance in the game, hence increasing their prize fund.

During the game, the player has a set of lifelines that they may use only once to help them with a question, as well as two “safety nets”.

These lifelines are: ’50/50′, where the computer eliminates two random wrong options, leaving the right option and the other remaining wrong option; ‘Phone a Friend’, where the contestant has 30 seconds to call one of their friends, read the question and four possible options to the friend, who then has the remaining time to offer input; and ‘Ask the Audience’, where audience members use touchpads to designate what they believe the correct option to be and the percentage of the audience choosing each specific option is displayed to the contestant.

Past winners of the show include Osazuwa Osahon Daniels, who went home with N5m in 2009; Aroma Chimuanya, who got N10m in 2009; Babatunde Oladipo, who walked away with N5m in 2010; and Nnaemeka Ubaekwena, who left the show N5m richer in 2012.

The show is sponsored by UP, a payments and financial technology company, in collaboration with BLK Hut Media, producers of the Nigerian version of the show, under the license of Sony Pictures.

The Managing Director of UP, Agada Apochi, stated that the show would create lasting memories for viewers.

He said, “We are sponsoring the show to entertain, educate and excite Nigerians. The return of WWTBAM is coming with a bang that would create lasting memories in the minds of audiences.

“It is going to keep them on the edge of their seats as new millionaires emerge from the show.”

The Chief Executive Officer of BLK HUT Media, Hakeem Condotti, also emphasised that the show would keep viewers glued to the edges of their seats.

He said, “We are proud to bring international quality content right to our screens again in Nigeria.

“As part of the much-needed relief from COVID-19 that we all need as a nation, ‘Who Wants To Be A Millionaire? Series 2 – The Rebirth’ is here to entertain, educate and have viewers on the edge of their seats.”

Read Also: Bollywood icon, Lata Mangeshkar dies

Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *